My Interview with Mr. Peabody

Thien Han: Hi, readers. I am going to do another interview. This time, our special guest of honor will be Mr. Peabody. I will let those of you who saw my interview with Pythagoras that this interview won’t be done by my butler, TNT. Mr. Peabody has modified his WABAC in order to be able to travel between dimensions. He traveled to our world to learn what it was like to be outside of a world of cartoons and inside a world of real pictures. I was lucky enough to run into him while walking home and he was more than happy to share his knowledge with our world. Today, I will be asking Mr. Peabody about how he used mathematics in his life because there is no better way to learn about how mathematics are applied to problems in real-life than to speak with a genius who has used it many times. Mr. Peabody, can you tell our audience how the mathematics courses in school have been beneficial to your life after your graduation from Harvard?

Mr. Peabody: The first and most obvious example that most of you have seen was the time when I escaped the guillotine. I understand that I explained to my son, Sherman how I escaped the guillotine too quickly for most people to understand what I said. When the men who rebelled against the queen tried to drop the guillotine on me, I noticed that there were many sewer lids that were close to the guillotine. The distance between the sewer lids remained consistent and used that knowledge to find out that there was a sewer lid under me.

Thien Han: How would you escape the guillotine? Even if there was a sewer lid under you, wouldn’t the guillotine behead you faster than you could escape?

Mr. Peabody: That’s what most people would believe. However, the sewer lid under me wasn’t the only object that I used to my advantage. I also knew that there was a floor board under the basket where my head would’ve dropped. I moved the floor board in order to let the sunlight hit Sherman’s glasses and move at an angle that would blind the executioner long enough for me to escape. Did I explain my escape too quickly for you? I am willing to repeat myself.

Thien Han: When I saw you explain your escape to Sherman, I couldn’t keep up with you, but I heard everything you said right now. Do you think you can give us another example of how mathematics have been useful to you?

Mr. Peabody: My knowledge of geometry has saved Sherman’s friend, Penny from falling from a very tall height. I stole a Trojan’s horse and a rope while fighting to protect Sherman. I calculated the horse’s speed, found the circumference of the wheels of the Trojan Horse that Penny was trapped in, and found the angles that I should make when roping the Trojan Horse in order to catch it before Penny fell to her death.

Thien Han: Is there more to mathematics than just formulas and computations that involve shapes?

Mr. Peabody: Yes. Math is also about logic. You probably wrote conjectures in your geometry class and did proofs as an eighth grader.

Thien Han: Oh yeah. Thanks for the quick reminder, but how did logical thinking help you?

Mr. Peabody: I used geometry and logic to escape the guillotine. I used my logical thinking to assume that there was a sewer lid under me when I was about to get executed.

Thien Han: Thank you for your time, Mr. Peabody.

Mr. Peabody: Thank you for inviting me here to speak with you. I feel honored to be invited here by you.

Thien Han: I will repeat. Thank you for your time. I will be out for this week. Peace out.

©RobKleine(CC BY-NC 2.0)

Leave a Reply

